Thank You for Voting for Me Yesterday

It was close. After the Conservatives insisted on two recounts and then insisted on yet another check, the Park Ward result was finally agreed some time after three o’clock this morning. I got to bed at 4am. The full results for the Peterborough City Council elections are here. Votes for the first First Past The Post Police and Crime Commissioner election are still being counted.

I am extremely grateful to everyone who voted for me and who supported me in this election. Everything you did means a lot. Thank you so very much.

For me, the campaign I was most concerned about was the one run by Kirsty Knight to retain her seat and I congratulate her very very warmly on achieving this despite having made a tough and gutsy decision to leave the Green Party just a few weeks prior to the election. Kirsty has almost certainly broken another election campaign record and she has certainly set an excellent precedent for Peterborough. Thank you everyone who has supported Kirsty.

It was noticeable to me that a couple of newbie Liberal Democrat candidates also won with remarkably short campaigns. Hats off to both of them too.

I feel for Nick Sandford who has to continue to perform his duties as Mayor (until the Mayor making ceremony) despite losing his seat last night. I know he’ll see the funny side, but still. While Peterborough elects in thirds, surely, most years, the Mayor doesn’t have to be someone facing election in the same year? It is a very tough job.

Incidentally, someone I respect very much had a quiet word in my ear last night. He pointed out that if your ward is represented by people who don’t live in it, the problem is not so much the non resident councillors, it is more likely to be that not enough ward residents are getting involved and putting themselves forward as candidates. Now, why is that?

Author: Fiona Radic

Independent in Park Ward Peterborough

Leave a comment